Six little-known methods motorists can lose their driving license together with not paying little one help
Drivers can have their license withdrawn in six little-known ways – all without getting behind the wheel.
There are many obvious ways to lose your driver’s license while driving, such as frivolously or under the influence of alcohol.
Motorists can have their license revoked in a number of little-known waysCredit: Alamy
You can also get it on hold for a number of non-driving reasons, such as: B. if no child benefit is paid.
In most cases, conviction will mean your license will be revoked.
However, if you are a frequent offender, they can have your license revoked permanently or even jail you.
Below we’ve listed six options, although the laws vary by state.
1. Failure to pay child support
If you are late with child support payments, your license may be suspended.
The amount and timing will vary by region, but you will be informed and given the opportunity to correct the situation before it happens.
For example, in California, the licensing authority gives you 150 days to respond the first time.
But if it happens again, you only have 30 days to report before your license is suspended.
If losing your license would make it difficult for you to get to work and earn income to make the payments, some states allow you to apply for a temporary license.
2. Alcohol possession by minors
If you have not reached the legal drinking age and are caught drinking, your driver’s license can also be revoked.
Most states suspend licenses for anywhere from 60 days to up to a year, but again this depends on the state and the frequency you’ve taken out.
In the state of New Jersey, teenagers over the age of 18 but under the age of 21 have six months of driving license suspended if caught with alcohol in the car.
This also applies if he or she has not driven.
3. Failure to pay your student loan
The average student loan debt is nearly $ 33,000 per borrower, but late payments can mean you will lose your license.
That means you have to deal with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) as well as your lender.
According to the New York Times in 2017, 20 states had their driver’s license revoked if motorists failed to pay their loans.
Students with federal loans do not have to make their repayments until October 1 of this year due to the coronavirus pandemic.
It could be renewed by President Joe Biden, but has not yet been confirmed.
4. Skip school
If you frequently miss school, some states will deprive you of your right to drive.
In Florida, for example, teenagers under the age of 18 can have their study permits or licenses revoked if they have missed school for more than 15 days.
This applies to unexcused absences within 90 days.
5. Write bad checks
We can all make mistakes, especially when it comes to writing checks.
However, deliberately writing bad checks can result in license suspension in states like Indiana and New York.
A void check is any payment that is withdrawn, voided, declined, or not paid in full.
6. When you owe your government debt
If you owe your state debt, it can cost your license, at least temporarily.
Usually this applies to large debts of around $ 10,000 or more and the state will notify you before you lose anything.
This is true in states like New York and Massachusetts to name a few.
However, a new proposal, first announced in February, aims to end the Massachusetts driver’s license suspension for unpaid fines and fees.
Drinking coffee or water while driving can result in a hefty fine as states crack down on you.
In the meantime, driving with headphones on can mean you will be fined.
We explain how to find a cheap engine as used car prices soar.
Comments are closed.